Opening a Dispensary in Pennsylvania
Act 16 titled the ‘Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act’ was signed into law in May 2016 and legalized medical marijuana. As of April 2018, a significant percentage of the state is yet to see medical marijuana patients obtain medicine from dispensaries in Pennsylvania. In mid-January 2017, the Department of Health released dispensary and producer applications. Under the current regulations, Pennsylvania marijuana dispensary licenses will be segregated into six districts. During phase 1, the state will issue only two producer licenses per region. Pennsylvania marijuana laws allow each dispensary license to operate a maximum of three dispensary locations. These regions may be subdivided and licenses issued at an interval of two years. Originally, the plan was to issue only 50 dispensary licenses, but the number may be increased to 150 dispensaries by 2018.
As originally enacted, a 30-day supply was allowed for only cannabis-infused pills, topical ointments, tinctures, oils, or liquids. The State Health Secretary approved an advisory board recommendation on April 16, 2018, authorizing dispensaries to start offering herbal cannabis. Under the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act, any individual with a severe medical condition as certified by an accredited physician qualifies to get medical marijuana at any dispensary situated in the commonwealth and have an authentic permit from the department. This also applies to caregivers.
The State of Medical Marijuana Market in Pennsylvania
As the fifth largest state in the country, Pennsylvania is home to nearly 13 million people. Also, the state has an extensive list of conditions that can be treated with medical marijuana, and special regulations were issued to allow minors to get permission to obtain medicinal marijuana. Experts estimate that registered patients could reach more than 200,000 once the market is mature and the sales will reach 227 million in 2021.
How to open a Dispensary in Pennsylvania
Under the financial requirements, there are specific fees incurred when opening a dispensary in Pennsylvania, this includes:
- A non-refundable application fee of $5,000
- $30,000 registration fee submitted with the application, refundable if not awarded a license
- $250 modification or relocation of activities fee
- $150,000 required in capital by the Department of Health
All the fees must be verifiably available at the time of application.
America Cannabis Company, Inc.
The application can be complex, and the competition is tough. With limited chances for licensing, you don’t want to make a mistake that would cost you the opportunity to operate your own dispensary in Pennsylvania. Consider working with America Cannabis Company, Inc. We will help you gather all the documents and finances, and plan your operations to efficiently and cost-effectively obtain the permits and licenses. Want to learn how to open a dispensary in Pennsylvania? Contact us today for a free consultation.